Things I Know

Firstly I want to give a heartfelt thank you to each and everyone that commented and wished me well, with regards to my situation with Otis. I am humbled by the words said to me. Knowing that little Otis touched so many lives of so many people whom he never met, but by means of me discussing him (without his permission) here on my WP blog posts.

The amount of people that said they shed tears right along with me is beyond belief.

I would like to leave with you a memory of the face that I will see forever. this was the face I got to see just before we went to bed on Wednesday night.

My Sweet Boy "OTIS"

My Sweet Boy “OTIS”

I also received a wonderful placard to place by Otis’s grave, from someone who Otis managed to touch their life. This placard will accompany the grave stone that I will chisel Otis’s name in by hand. Thank You so very much for this placard. This will be hung on the fence at the head of the grave.

"Together Forever Never Apart Maybe In Distance But Never In Heart"

“Together Forever
Never Apart
Maybe In Distance
But Never In Heart”

So this is really going to take me some time to past. So many things in my daily routine involved Otis and now those are all gone. Starting from how I was awoke each and every morning and going through the day until the lights were turned out.

I want to say to everyone that right now is the time to take a look at how you do things in your daily life. The things that you say or don’t say to those who mean so much to you. The loss I have had to accept came at me at rapid speed, with little time to prepare.

In light of that, this can happen to anyone, anytime, anywhere. Always ensure that those that matter to you know and hear directly from you how much you love them. No matter how nasty a disagreement might be at any given time, always end it and make sure that they know and hear from you that you love them.

If my last moments with Otis had been on bad terms that would have killed me. I am fortunate that I was able to show and tell Otis how much he was loved and how much he meant to me.

Yah he was a dog. When you have no one else in your life that still counts. As I said last night, I spent more time with Otis than most people spend with their significant other or their own children.

Change the world, start now showing how much you love and care for those around you.

Long weekend in Canada, the official start to Summer.

Have a great weekend everyone.

Brightest Blessings and again a heartfelt thank you from the late Otis and me.

14 responses to “Things I Know

  1. What a great touching tribute to your furry friend.. You were a great caretaker! I’m sure he adored his caretaker!

  2. It will… It always does my friend.. Otis’s spirit is what was fun and nice.. I always ask someone who’s loved one had passed, “what was the funniest thing they said and did? What was the funniest thing Otis did?” Chasing his tail? Bouncing around? His spirit lives in you:) peace

  3. For me it was first thing in the morning. Otis woke me with kisses and then would stay about an inch from my face and stare at me until I got up. Once up and say good morning Otis and he would dance and dance and dance. He was always so happy to start each and every day. Every morning meant he got to play ball as soon as I was up. Otis lived to play ball.
    Never in my life have I seen anyone or anything so happy to see a new day, each and every day.
    That was life with Otis.
    bill

  4. Good! Nothing like playing ball with your caretaker:) Otis lived in the moment and he was completely happy:)

  5. No matter how many people are in our lives , our companions still count. What drew me to your blog was your love for Otis. Even though his life was short, you made it a good one.

  6. I gave Otis the life that I would expect to receive if the shoe were on the other foot.
    When Otis came into my life I made a commitment.
    I only wish that one day all caregivers of pets treat their charges with respect and love.

  7. A lovely comment & wise words there, Bill.
    In the UK we have had a young man called Stephen Sutton in the news for the last few weeks. Diagnosed with terminal cancer at the age of 15, he passed away this week aged just 19 after devoting his last few months to fundraising & giving motivational (& very humorous) speeches to encourage people to live their lives well & make the most of our precious time here:
    https://www.facebook.com/StephensStory
    http://stephensstory.co.uk/
    None of us know what’s round the corner. Best wishes.
    Jeanette

  8. I am so sorry! I cant Imagine what thats like loosing your dog. This was sad news! Positive thoughts sendt your way.

  9. Thanks.
    I don”t know. To me it is akin to losing a child as Otis was with me everyday with exception to a few hours here and there for almost 6 years. the emptiness and heart ache is enormous.
    Hopefully in time the hurt will go away.
    Again thank you.

  10. He wasn’t just a dog…he was your companion…more loyal and loving than ANY human has the ability to give. It is an indescribable thing..the relationship between a person and their animal companion…it transcends what is earthly, really. I have a special dog and I dread the day…and I am painfully aware it will be coming before long; he is quite old and becoming infirm. It’s going to be a very, very sad time when I must go on without him. My sincerest condolences to you.

  11. Thank you so very much.
    Cherish every moment that you have left with your companion. My time with Otis was cut much to short, although I know that he knew how much he meant to me and how much I loved him.
    That doesn’t take the sting away though.
    best wishes to you.

Comments are closed.