One Of The Hardest Things A Man Has To Do

2010_06210059

Otis has started having seizures again today. After much debate within myself and after talking with his Doctor it has been decided that it is for the best that I say my goodbye’s to my dear friend.

As I had said from the start of his illness that I would never allow him to suffer, I find myself having now to keep my word.

Tonight will be hard and very sad, yet I will do my best to ensure that Otis has a wonderful night of fun and love. Tomorrow morning at 10:20 I will say my final farewell to my awesome friend.

We want to thank you all who have stayed with us and listened to out tales, have made comments and wished Otis well. I know that we will meet again. For now he will be able to rejoin his close friends Willow and Emma who just left us this past week. They will again be able to play together until such time as their peoples come to join them.

All Nice And Snuggled In

All Nice And Snuggled In

Thank You everyone for your support.

17 responses to “One Of The Hardest Things A Man Has To Do

  1. *hugs*. I am so sorry. You are a good man for not letting your friend suffer.

  2. I am so sorry to read this. It sounds like you have made the right decision. It’s never easy. But I think we always know the ‘right’ time in our hearts.

  3. Dear Bill,
    My heart goes out to you at this time, as I too, am nearing the time when I must say goodbye to one of my best friends. It’s a very hard decision to make, but when it’s time, we seem to know it.

    Take care and give an extra to yourself and Otto for me.

    with Love
    Rhan

  4. Thank you Rhan.
    This has been a crap day for sure. I just finished digging his final spot for tomorrow, all the while having to toss the ball for him. Of course he had another extremely violent seizure while I was digging. Thought for a moment that we would not even make it through till tomorrow. He got up afterwards, shook himself around and resumed playing ball.
    Going to miss him for sure.
    Take care
    all the best and thank you again.
    bill

  5. Bill,
    I’m just so, so sad to read this. But I know that you have made the kindest decision & ensured Otis has had the most wonderful time with you. You have put Otis first & ensured he hasn’t ever suffered, rather than keep him with you & see him in pain.
    Best wishes & take good care of yourself.
    Jeanette xxx

  6. Thank you for your kind words.

    This is so incredibly hard. I feel so empty and lost at the moment. That is selfish I suppose.

    Otis had a nice breakfast this morning and then we went out and played ball until it was time to go. I was with him the whole time, never let him go. (sorry to be morbid.) Otis gave me lots of kisses as he was passing. That was the best gift.

    It will take me some time to get over this. There is the second guessing to deal with right now. Guilt and and sadness.

    Although I know it was the best thing. Yesterday’s seizures were so violent I don’t even know how he managed to survive them. He lost something after each one. Personality changes. He got up so many times last night and was just lost.

    I can relax and know that he is not going to suffer any longer. He was my buddy and I made a promise to him that under no circumstances would I ever let him suffer.

    He was a great companion. Tonight will be the first night that I will not have him sharing the bed and snoring in my ear. Don’t expect that will be easy to deal with either.

    In time it will pass and I will come to except the fact that he is in a far better place. I know that he will be there to greet me when my time comes. At which point we will be for eternity.

    bill

  7. I have enjoyed hearing about Otis and your love for him and it pains me that you have to endure this. Losing a pet is gut-wrenching and tragic, but I’m sure you’ll remember the happy times you had with him and the joy he brought to your life. I’m so sorry for your loss. I’m thinking of you in your time of need and I certainly share your grief.
    All the best,
    Megan

  8. My most heartfelt condolences. We had to go through this a few months ago with our beautiful Persian cat. Our pets look to us to take care of them, and they accept our decisions knowing they come from love and the desire for their best welfare. Otis loved you and trusted you, and you did not let him down. You spared him the inevitable pain. Blessings.

  9. This just shows how much you care about Otis, not letting him suffer! It’s terrible loosing a pet, I just know that Otis knew how much you loved him. This truely breaks my heart!

  10. I think he did too. I hope that he can understand the why’s as to what i had to do.
    I will see him again some day.
    Thank you so very much for your comments and well wishes.
    bill

  11. I have let companions go in the past and I know that it was the right thing to do. I have promised myself that no animal in my care will ever be in pain, it’s the one horrible thing about having friends with so short lifespan, taking that choice for them. Otis is with his friends now, I am a firm believer that you will meet again some day.

Comments are closed.