Reality Check

What a horrible thing to do to someone.

On Monday I spend the day outdoors with Otis. While not playing constantly with him, I undertook a few tasks that needed to be taken care of. First I picked up all the yard raking’s that I had piled up and stuffed them into 5 of those dead body hiding brown paper yard bags that the municipality requires you to use now. Five of those bags filled to capacity and then carried from the very back of the back yard, through the garage and to the very front of the front yard to the street. Then I jacked up the van three times, once in the rear to change the tires with the tires I had taken off the front last fall and twice in the front to remove the snow tires and replace them with the all seasons I had just removed form the rear of the van. (commonly called rotating your tires) That also included carrying the tires from the shed in the very back of the back yard through the garage into the driveway and back again with the snow tires.

I think that this may have been just a little bit to much for me as I got to spend the day in bed yesterday unable to move. With the amount of drugs floating through my body at any given time I don’t see how I could feel anything. Never the less these small tasks that needed to be taken care of was too much.

This of course brings me to the reality check point of it.

Am I going to be able to handle sailing a boat? It is not likely that I am going to be able to get myself out into the Atlantic ocean and have to take a day off to recuperate. These stupid things that I do that does not affect anyone else the way that it does me while I am under the guise the narcotics that they have me on are not going to be there to mask the ill effects of my ignorance.

There are alternatives to getting me in a boat down from Ontario to Florida without having to go into the ocean. Thus giving me the opportunity to take a rest day when needed.

I am not giving up on my plans, although I may have to reconsider the means of how and when I am able to take on the things that I want to do when I want to do them.

Who knows there may be some magical drug developed between now and then that can take care of what ever ails you with out the need for it to be a narcotic that numbs the brain to a point of almost non-usability. Time will tell.

It is 5:30 am, and it hurts to sit up and type this out so it could possibly be another day in bed. It’s pouring buckets right now, as it will for the better part of the day so no loss really.

Things like this are actually a blessing in disguise as they remind me of the limitations that I need to face. Hopefully allowing me a means to find other solutions to manage getting the same things accomplished.

Hope that there is some sun shine in your lives today.

